My Outreachy Project

January 12, 2020

My project with Creative Commons(CC) is extending the scope and/or usage of CC Vocabulary. What is Vocabulary and what does it mean to extend its scope and usage? I will try to explain this in the simplest form.

What is Vocabulary?

Vocabulary is Creative Commons’s web design system. This project was originally started by my mentors Dhruv Bhanushali and Hugo Solar to unify all of CC websites and applications.

Vocabulary comprised of reusable UI components and an interactive playground built with Storybook.

What does it mean to extend its scope and usage?

This means using Vocabulary’s UI components to rebuild or revamp CC websites and platforms. Since Vocabulary provides a shared library of reusable components and guidelines, building products and maintenance becomes easier and much faster.

My Project Progress so far

Vocabulary initially comprised of UI components built with Vue.js and a live styleguide built with Styleguidist. My first task was to create an interactive playground experience with Storybook which should replace live styleguide built with Styleguidist.

Styleguidist and Storybook are both open-source tools for developing UI components. You can read up about them.

A live version of the interactive playground I contributed to building can be seen here.

Next, I will be working on building the same functional UI components with vanilla JavaScript for other CC websites that are not built with Vue.

You Can Also Contribute

Vocabulary has been undergoing a lot of changes lately. We welcome anyone who wishes to contribute to its development. Its GitHub repository can be found here.


Profile picture

Written by Chidiebere OnyegbuchulemI learn, code and write. You can follow me on Twitter